an image, a thought

I’m just adding text to my photography (an experiment).

Terminal

leave a comment »

dsc_4809.jpg

Snack Shop/Taqueria

The words on the middle window read;
Tacos
Hot Chocolate
Tameles
Hot Dog
Hamburger
Champurado

This photo always makes me smile. There are dualities in various aspects of the larger U.S. culture that could be easily missed, not realizing how they affect us. They’re all around us and sometimes well hidden.

There is a Puerto Rican restaurant in Logan Square where I was able to order orchata to go with my Jibarito sandwich. I venture to say that the sandwich itself is a sign of a type or kind of duality in the local Chicago culture but I may be intellectualizing or even over-intellectualizing a simple thing. I smile again…

Written by myschisms

January 24, 2008 at 5:13 pm

Posted in thoughts

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

